What Is Sales Tax In Massachusetts? (Question)

The Massachusetts sales tax is 6.25% of the sales price or rental charge on tangible personal property, including certain telecommunication services sold or rented in Massachusetts. Sales tax is generally collected by the seller.

What transactions are subject to the sales tax in Massachusetts?

  • In the state of Massachusetts, sales tax is legally required to be collected from all tangible, physical products being sold to a consumer. Several examples of exceptions to this tax are most food and grocery products (not food served at a restaurant), certain sanitation and health care items, periodicals, clothes which cost less than one hundred and seventy five dollars, and medical devices which have been prescribed.

What is the tax on items in Massachusetts?

Sales tax. The Massachusetts sales tax is 6.25% of the sales price or rental charge of tangible personal property (including gas, electricity, and steam) or certain telecommunications services1 sold or rented in Massachusetts.

What is not taxed in Massachusetts?

Traditional Goods or Services Goods that are subject to sales tax in Massachusetts include physical property, like furniture, home appliances, and motor vehicles. Prescription medicine, groceries, gasoline, and clothing are all tax-exempt.

Is food taxed in MA?

Massachusetts imposes a sales tax on meals sold by or bought from restaurants or any restaurant part of a store. The tax is 6.25% of the sales price of the meal.

Is there local sales tax in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts has state sales tax of 6.25%, and allows local governments to collect a local option sales tax of up to N/A. There are a total of 336 local tax jurisdictions across the state, collecting an average local tax of N/A.

You might be interested:  How old is katrina law

What states have no sales tax?

The 5 states without sales tax

  • Alaska. Known as ‘The Last Frontier’, Alaska is the most tax-friendly state in the country.
  • Delaware. The ‘First State’ also does not charge its residents or visitors any state sales tax.
  • Montana.
  • New Hampshire.
  • Oregon.
  • Sales tax isn’t the only tax to consider.

How do I calculate sales tax?

Multiply the cost of an item or service by the sales tax in order to find out the total cost. The equation looks like this: Item or service cost x sales tax (in decimal form) = total sales tax. Add the total sales tax to the Item or service cost to get your total cost.

Is there a luxury tax in Massachusetts?

(WWLP) – In Massachusetts, clothing and shoes are tax exempt, unless you spend over a certain amount. The state’s luxury tax kicks in when you spend more than $175 on an item. It’s the same as the sales tax, 6.25%.

Do you pay sales tax on a house in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts Home Buyer Guide No, Massachusetts home buyers do not pay taxes on the purchase of real estate, but home sellers do pay something called tax stamps.

Is chocolate taxable in Massachusetts?

Grocery items are generally tax exempt in Massachusetts. This includes soft drinks, candy and other food types that many other states consider taxable.

Is toilet paper taxable in Massachusetts?

Among other products, New Jersey exempts toilet paper, diapers, acne cream, and even medicated lip balm from its sales tax. Massachusetts exempts “health care items ” including tampons, diapers, and hearing aids.

You might be interested:  How Much Tax Will I Pay On $26,000 A Year? (Solution found)

Is there tax on alcohol in Massachusetts?

The ballot measure for the 2010 ballot was added after the Massachusetts State Legislature increased the sales tax in the state from 5% to 6.25% and eliminated an exemption for alcohol sold in liquor stores. The Measure passed with 52% of the vote thereby eliminating the sales tax on alcohol beginning January 1, 2011.

What is the sales tax on 7000 dollars?

Tax Value = 7525 – 7000 = 525.

How much is sales tax in MA on a car?

Massachusetts: Sales Tax Handbook According to SalesTaxHandbook, Massachusetts has a state sales tax rate of 6.25% on all cars purchased in the state.

Who pays sales tax buyer or seller?

For the most part, sales taxes must be paid or collected by the seller. In contrast, the responsibility for reporting and paying use taxes generally falls on the purchaser.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *