According to Chapter 381 of the Florida Statutes, a person is only permitted to legally use marijuana in the state of Florida if they have been granted a Medical Marijuana Use Authorization by the state. This law provides restrictions for a user registration, the possession of medical marijuana by caregivers, and treatment facilities where patients may buy marijuana edibles.
Is marijuana legal in Florida?
However, possession of cannabis in amounts of 20 grams or less has been decriminalized in various counties in the state of Florida. In 2016, legislation was approved to decriminalize cannabis possession and use. In the past, being caught in possession of up to 20 grams of marijuana might result in a year behind bars.
What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Florida?
Marijuana for adult use, sometimes known as recreational marijuana, is still illegal to buy, possess, and consume in the state of Florida. A person is guilty of a misdemeanor if they are found in possession of less than 20 grams of marijuana. This crime carries a potential sentence of one year in jail in addition to a fine of $1,000.
What is low-THC cannabis and is it legal in Florida?
According to the statutes of the state of Florida, cannabis with low levels of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) is defined as a product or derivative of cannabis that includes 0.8 percent of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) or less and more than 10 percent cannabidiol (CBD).The Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act prohibits the use of cannabis in smoked form and places restrictions on the types of medical illnesses that qualify for treatment with cannabis containing low levels of THC.
Can you get a DUI for marijuana in Florida?
Medical marijuana in the state of Florida can only be ingested by patients who meet certain requirements.In the state of Florida, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana continues to be a crime that carries a penalty.The penalties are comparable to those that are imposed for driving under the influence of alcohol, and for a first violation, a person might face up to six months in jail or fines of up to one thousand dollars.
Can you go into a dispensary without a card in Florida?
In the state of Florida, can I visit a dispensary even if I don’t have a card? You will not be allowed to visit any of Florida’s dispensaries without first obtaining a medical marijuana card from the state of Florida. Because cannabis use for recreational purposes is not permitted in the state of Florida, only licensed medical marijuana patients are permitted to enter dispensaries.
Is Florida strict on marijuana?
Possession. To be in possession of cannabis in an amount of 20 grams or less is considered a misdemeanor, which has a potential penalty of one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. If you are caught in possession of more than 20 grams of cannabis, you will be charged with a felony that carries a potential penalty of five years in jail and a maximum fine of $5,000.
How much can you buy from a dispensary at a time Florida?
This adjustment is being made by the Department of Health in order to bring MMUR into compliance with the legislation. According to the law, patients are only permitted to buy a total of 2.5 ounces of cannabis throughout the course of a period of 35 days.
How many plants can you grow with a medical card in Florida 2020?
The measure would have amended Amendment 2 (2016), which legalized medical marijuana in Florida, to redefine’medical use’ under the measure to include growing up to nine marijuana plants. This would have been in addition to the current definition, which only allows for the consumption of marijuana for medical purposes.