How many states did congress need to pass a law

How many states passed a law under the Articles of Confederation?

Passing a Law. Nine of the 13 states must vote in favor of it. Amending. To change the Articles, every state had to agree.

Does Congress pass state laws?

All legislative power in the government is vested in Congress, meaning that it is the only part of the government that can make new laws or change existing laws. … The President may veto bills Congress passes, but Congress may also override a veto by a two-thirds vote in both the Senate and the House of Representatives.

How many states have agree to pass a law?

nine states

How many states must consent before Congress?

In order for Congress to act on the specifically listed powers above, nine of the thirteen states must agree. Issues of any other type, except for the request to adjourn from day to day, must be decided by the majority of states.

What rights did states have under the Articles of Confederation?

Each state held “its sovereignty, freedom, and independence, and every power, jurisdiction, and right, which is not by this confederation expressly delegated to the United States, in Congress assembled.” The Congress, the primary organ of the new national government, only had the power to declare war, appoint military …

What did the judicial branch look like under the Articles of Confederation?

The national government under the Articles of Confederation consisted of a single legislative body, called the Congress of the United States. … Additionally, there was not an executive or judicial branch of government under the Articles.

You might be interested:  What does certiorari mean in law

Can the president pass a law without congressional approval?

The president can issue rules, regulations, and instructions called executive orders, which have the binding force of law upon federal agencies but do not require approval of the United States Congress.

Which branch declares laws unconstitutional?

The Judicial branch

What branch of the government declares war?

The Constitution grants Congress the sole power to declare war.

Why did only 9 states ratify the constitution?

This was done in two ways: (1) Ratification or rejection would come not from state politicians, but from conventions directly elected by the voters for the sole purpose of considering the Constitution. … 3), the Framers believed that any combination of nine states would comprise a majority of American citizens.

Did all 13 states ratify the constitution?

As dictated by Article VII, the document would not become binding until it was ratified by nine of the 13 states. Beginning on December 7, five states—Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut—ratified it in quick succession.

Who wrote Constitution of America?

James Madison

Who decides how new states will join the US?


Can the United States remove a state?

The constitution is silent on the question of whether or not a state may unilaterally leave, or secede from, the Union. However, the Supreme Court, in Texas v. White (1869), held that a state cannot unilaterally do so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *