Which fair housing law added sex to the list of protected classes?

How many protected classes does the Fair Housing Act?

seven protected classes

Which of the following citizens is not a protected class under federal fair housing law?

The protected classes of handicap and familial status were added in 1988. The seven protected classes became race, color, religion, national origin, sex, handicap and familial status. … Age, marital status, or sexual preference, are not protected classes under Federal Fair Housing!

What was added to the Fair Housing Act in 1974?

In 1974, the Fair Housing Act was amended to prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex. In 1988, another amendment added the disabled and families with children to the list of protected classes. … The Fair Housing Act is enforced by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development.

What are the seven protected classes in fair housing?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin.

What is a violation of the Fair Housing Act?

Housing providers who refuse to rent or sell homes to people based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability are violating federal law, and HUD will vigorously pursue enforcement actions against them.

Which one of the four activities is illegal based on the Fair Housing Act?

The federal Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to discriminate based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, handicap, or familial status. State antidiscrimination laws may protect some or all of the other choices, but the federal law does not.

You might be interested:  What Country Has The Lowest Tax? (Question)

What are the 7 federal protected classes?

What are the protected classes? Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

Who is protected under fair housing laws?

The federal Fair Housing Act of 1968 and the federal Fair Housing Act Amendments Act of 1988 prohibit discrimination on the basis of the following criteria (called “protected categories”): race or color; religion; national origin; familial status or age—includes families with children under the age of 18 and pregnant …

What kind of housing discrimination is legal?

Specifically, the Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability. This also applies to perceptions of such characteristics.

What two protected classes were added in 1988?

In 1988, disability and familial status (the presence or anticipated presence of children under 18 in a household) were added (further codified in the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990). In certain circumstances, the law allows limited exceptions for discrimination based on sex, religion, or familial status.

What was added to the Fair Housing Act in 1988?

Like most important pieces of Federal legislation, the Fair Housing Act and the 1988 Amendments Act embody a series of careful compromises crafted by members of Congress. … The Act made it illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing on the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin.

What’s the difference between the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and 1968?

Civil Rights Act of 1964, prohibiting discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, and national origin by federal and state governments as well as some public places. Civil Rights Act of 1968, prohibiting discrimination in sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, creed, and national origin.

You might be interested:  How To Subtract Sales Tax? (TOP 5 Tips)

Does the Fair Housing Act apply to homeless shelters?

The Fair Housing Act was enacted in order to protect certain groups against discrimination in housing. The Act extends this protection to any “dwelling,” but its coverage is not well defined for nontraditional sleeping facilities such as homeless shelters, substance abuse treatment facilities, or tent cities.

Which protected classes are unique to fair housing?

Protected classes are created by both federal and state law. The original FHA had only five protected classes—race, color, religion, sex, and national origin. An amendment in 1988, however, added handicap and familial status to the protected classes.4 мая 2020 г.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *