The Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment funds return-to-work programs, provides increased benefits over time for workers who are permanently and totally disabled, and gives benefits to families of workers who die from workplace injuries or diseases. In 2021, this assessment is 2.2 cents per hour worked.
- The Oregon Workers´ Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment is a payroll tax calculated on the number of hours worked by all paid workers, owners, and officers covered by workers´ compensation insurance in Oregon, and by all workers subject to Oregon’s Workers´ Compensation Laws (whether or not covered by workers´ compensation insurance).
What is the Oregon WBF tax rate?
The Department of Consumer and Business Services has set the WBF assessment rate for calendar year 2021 at 2.2 cents per hour. The WBF assessment applies to each full or partial hour worked by each paid individual that an employer is required or chooses to provide with workers’ compensation insurance coverage.
Who is exempt from Oregon WBF?
In most cases, your business and employees are subject to workers’ compensation coverage, and therefore you are not exempt from paying this the WBF Assessment. If your business is not required to carry workers’ compensation coverage, you are exempt from the WBF Assessment. For “Oregon Benefit Fund,” choose “Exempt.”
How is Oregon Workers Comp calculated?
Oregon Workers’ Compensation Rates In 2021, Oregon employers will pay an average of $1.00 per $100 of payroll for workers’ compensation. Workers’ comp rates will vary between insurance companies. Rates are set by individual class code or industry and advised by the NCCI, a national rate-making organization.
How do I set up WBF in QuickBooks?
This article explains how to set up or change the OR WBF in QuickBooks Desktop. Details
- In the Employee Center, double-click on the employee’s name.
- Click the Payroll Info tab.
- Click the Taxes button to display the Federal, State and Other tabs.
- Click the Other tab and click the OR WBF tax.
What is a WBF?
The Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment funds return-to-work programs, provides increased benefits over time for workers who are permanently and totally disabled, and gives benefits to families of workers who die from workplace injuries or diseases.
How is WBF calculated?
Example of how the WBF assessment is calculated
- 40 hours * $0.014 = $0.56 (Employer portion)
- 40 hours * $0.014 = $0.56 (Employee portion)
Who pays Oregon statewide transit?
Dealers are responsible for paying the tax, which is one-half of 1 percent of the retail sales price of vehicles with 7,500 miles or less and a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or less and not previously registered in Oregon.
Is Workers Comp taxable in Oregon?
You do not pay taxes on these payments.
What is Oregon special payroll tax offset?
The Oregon SUI Special Payroll Tax Offset (ORAST) is a percentage of the Oregon SUI set aside to fund various state programs. Because this portion of SUI is not deposited into the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund, it cannot be included in contributions to the state when completing federal Form 940.
How much does Workmans Comp pay in Oregon?
An Injured worker’s wage paid is 66 2/3 percent of the workers wage. The weekly payment minimum is $50 or 90 percent of the employees actual wage if it is less. The weekly maximum is $790.38, 100% of the Oregon state average weekly wage. Maximum period of payments is the length of the disability.
Can you get fired while on workers comp in Oregon?
In Oregon, it is unlawful for an employer to fire an employee in retaliation for an on-the-job injury. Your employer fired you for a false reason shortly after you filed for workers’ compensation benefits.
Who pays Oregon Workers Benefit Fund?
In no case may an employer deduct more than half of the assessment from workers’ wages, and, in all cases, the employer is responsible for payment of the full 2.2 cents-per-hour assessment. Employers report and pay the WBF assessment directly to the state with other state payroll taxes.