What is erin’s law

What does Erin’s law state?

Ensuring Children Are Taught To Protect Themselves

Childhood sexual abuse survivor Erin Merryn is lobbying every state to pass Erin’s Law, which requires all public schools in each state implement a prevention-oriented child sexual abuse program.

What states have Erin’s Law?

After Erin introduced the legislation in her home state of Illinois, the bill was named “Erin’s Law” after her by legislators and it has caught on nationwide.

  • Vermont (State Board of Education has been requiring this since 2009)
  • Illinois.
  • Missouri.
  • Indiana.
  • Maine.
  • Michigan.
  • Arkansas.
  • Mississippi.

Why was Erin’s Law passed?

She is the founder of Erin’s Law, which requires public schools to teach children personal body safety on the prevention of child sexual abuse. It is the first law passed in the US requiring sexual abuse prevention education taught to students in school every year. Erin’s Law has been passed in 37 U.S. states.

Why is Erin’s law important?

“Erin’s Law is helping to fill an important gap in our prevention and awareness work, and the Child Sexual Abuse Awareness and Prevention Act will make sure schools have the resources needed to develop or expand these programs and provide parents, guardians and school personnel with the tools to help prevent and …

Is Erin Merryn married?

Erin and David Tie the Knot.

What happened Erin Merryn?

Childhood sexual abuse survivor turned author, speaker, child advocate and activist Erin Merryn is the founder and president of Erin’s Law. Sexually abused and raped from age 6-8 by an adult neighbor Erin was threatened to stay silent by her abuser. … She has now dedicated her life to protecting our nation’s children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *